New Beginnings

As I think most of us understand and realize… people come into our lives to teach us life lessons and skills.  They are usually a “mirror” for healing that we are needing within ourselves. 

Back in the late summer I “called” in a person to work for who taught me a great deal about myself!  I thought working for him was going to finally be my “home” and a place I could rest my hat for a while since he allowed me to be creative in using the skills I possess.  Wrong!  He pushed every button I have….multiple times a day!

I took a step back and asked “what does he have to teach me?”  From here I enlisted a good friend of mine, Mary Ligon, as my life/business coach to get to the bottom of the anxieties/frustrations that were bubbling up to the surface as a result of this new “job”.  She began by having me take the Winslow Personality Test.  I was shocked to see how low I scored in:  Assertiveness, Mental Toughness, Self Control, Self Confidence and Contentment.  These were all areas I had been very strong in years ago but the last few years took it’s toll and where I was once “super woman”, I now had become “super wimpy”.

She began working with my “core values” and “beliefs”….and after a couple of sessions…I could begin feeling all of these weak areas improving.  I was taking control of my life and standing up for myself!!  I no longer allowed my boss to talk down to me, manipulate me or bully me.  I held fast to my beliefs.  So much so that he began saying I was “opinionated”!  WOW!  That’s a first!  But who says that having strong opinions is a bad thing?  Doesn’t it truly mean that you believe in yourself enough to not back down the minute there is a little opposition? 

Needless to say, my boss (who was all the things that I wasn’t) and I began to see things differently.  Even though I knew he respected my expertise, knowledge and ideas…I think he was becoming a little intimidated by the woman who was growing in her self-confidence!

It was the perfect place for me to be for those months…but now I realize that rather than building up someone else’s business it was time to build up my own!

Everything happens for a reason!

~ by ConnectTheeDots on December 3, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
