The Little Engine That Could

“I think I can, I think I can, I think I can”… a mantra which has rung quietly in the back of my mind since I was a little girl.  Today the words have changed to “I know I can, I know I can, I know I can”!!!

Each day when I open my sleep filled eyes I remind myself that I can “do anything when I set my mind to it”, regardless of the outward appearances of a situation.  Even when things seem to be moving forward, it’s natural for the rhythm or cycle to make a dip here or there.  The trick is to keep your eye on the prize without allowing seeds of doubt to be planted…thus causing a “slippage” into the doldrums.  It’s not always easy, that’s for sure!  Some days all I need is to make a mental note acknowledging any potential negative thoughts dancing around in my head to make the shift… and then other days I feel as though I’m in the bottom of a 100′ well with no way to get out!

Today my day began with being on top of the world!  I was flying high by all accounts!  By mid-morning though a phone call from my lawyer spun me around 180 degrees leaving me to look up the 100′ cylindrical walls from the wells bottom!  Oh Dear!  It’s time to take a step back for a better look, quiet the mind and be in stillness…allowing a balance of energy to smooth out the emotions.  Each individual must find their own “way” to stillness – Wayne Dyer enters the “gap” through meditation; Krishna Das sings/chants the revealed name of God; others may practice pranayama breathing, yoga, or shamanic journeying; and for myself I include journaling to help bring a calm peace to my body/mind/spirit.

Regardless of how we get back on track…it’s important to note the journey along the way.  What mirrors were reflected to us?  What lesson was learned from the process?  Did the Ego make an appearance?

Today’s writing has brought my focus back; discouragement and disappointment from the morning have taken a back seat; and I once again repeat “I know I can, I know I can, I know I can”.  I’m back on track!

In-Joy!

~ by ConnectTheeDots on July 14, 2010.

2 Responses to “The Little Engine That Could”

  1. Hi Holly
    The “100′ cylindrical walls from the wells bottom” – sounds pretty formidable to me.
    Hope you are as successful as the little engine.
    Just keep saying I can, I can, I…….

Leave a Reply

 
